The University of Missouri-St. Louis Department of Music is proud to offer an annual concerto competition for its undergraduate music majors. The competition also includes a Junior Division open to high school instrumentalists and vocalists from participating states in the Midwest Student Exchange Program*.  Nationally recognized musicians and professors are invited to judge the final round of the competition, which takes place in the Lee Theater of the Touhill Performing Arts Center on the Friday before Thanksgiving. The winner of each division appears as soloist with the UMSL Orchestra or Wind Ensemble the following spring.

The winners of the 2016-17 Concerto Competition are...

Collegiate division:
1st prize, to play with UMSL Orchestra
Marta Kersulis, piano
Grieg, Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16 (mvt. 1)

Honorable Mention
Melissa Priese, cello
Saint-Saens, Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 (mvt. 1)

Junior division:
1st Prize (shared), to play with UMSL Orchestra
Elizabeth Nguyen, viola
Clayton HS
Stamitz, Viola Concerto in D Major, Op. 1 (mvt. 1)


Hannah O'Brien, violin
Nerinx Hall HS
Prokofiev, Violin Concerto in G minor, Op. 63 (mvt. 1)

Honorable Mention:
Alex Cho, cello
Marquette HS
Tchaikovsky, Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33

Nathan Hsu, cello
Ladue HS
Dvorak, Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104 (mvt. 1)

The judges this year were:
Winifred Crock,Clinician, author, and award-winning violin teacher and orchestra director
Ivo Kaltchev, Associate Professor of Piano, Catholic University of America

Information regarding auditions for the Concerto Competition can be found by clicking "Collegiate Division" or "Junior Division" on the left of your screen.



Daniel Kuehler performs Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 1 with the UMSL University Orchestra 

*Residents of Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) member states receive 150% of resident college tuition rates, a significant savings compared to out-of-state tuition rates. The following states are members: Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wisconsin.